RSS Feed

Not becoming…

Yesterday, I felt like a giddy 3 year old child at Best Buy, strolling up and down the Nintendo Wii aisle picking up accessories for my soon to arrive Wii gaming system. I was positive that my Wii was arriving yesterday. However, someone forgot to inform the Karma police that unlike all of the other areas they have crept into in my life, this was a done deal, the Wii was arriving that day and there was nothing they could do to stop it. But stop it they did. Once again, the Karma police fulfilled their duty and blotted out hours of Wii fun and replaced it with me sitting on the couch ruminating over my bad cosmic energy. In a spurt of frustration, I posted a video that I dedicated to the carriers that neglected to deliver my Wii. Now, I think it is safe to say that most things evolving out of a feeling of frustration can generally be cataloged under the “What was I thinking?” file. Being that calm and rational thought aren’t the staples of frustration, posting a video here and there are bound to happen. However, in a world of instant messaging, blogging, Twitter and Facebook, acting out of a spurt of frustration is no longer an opportunity to reflect and mature, rather, it is a feeding ground for those who delight in stating how they think you should act in more or less a 140 characters.

Almost immediately after posting my dedicatory video, I received a comment from an individual that I have virtually no personal contact. In her contact to me she stated that it was not becoming of a Christian to post that specific video. Soon thereafter, I received a comment from a man who stated that he was disappointed in me and implored that in the name of Christ I take down the video (again, another individual I have virtually no personal contact with). To put things in perspective, the video that I posted was “How I could just kill a man” by Cypress Hill. Am I going to kill the carrier for not delivering my Wii? No, posting this video was meant to exaggerate the feelings of frustration I felt for not having had my package delivered that day. Further exaggerating my feelings of frustration are the expletives that appear in the song. Perhaps posting this video was not the most productive reaction to a failed package delivery, yes, I get that. Yet, how productive is it to question a virtual strangers state of being based on a knee jerk reaction to a frustrating occurrence. For the record, I am a human being. Specifically, a human being who grew up in a household that I believe is safe to say put the “D” in dysfunctional. Cussing, drinking, and more than occasional spurts of frustration and anger were commonplace in my house. My sharing this is by no means intended to excuse this type of behavior, rather, it is intended to highlight that I like most human beings are complex, messy creations whose formative years were spent in less than idyllic households. On occasion, I cuss and act out of frustration. But the wonderful thing is that I do these things far less frequently than I used to, which for me is a positive thing.

Maybe having this knowledge about me would have tempered the comments I received on the video I posted, maybe not. Clicking “send” and “post” opens us up to a world of virtual strangers who stand ready to make unfettered comments about the items we choose to share. Of course, we control what we share as well as who can view and comment on what we share. I believe almost every social networking website has privacy controls that users can utilize to keep content private (I use many of these privacy settings myself). Public or private, know this, there will undoubtedly be someone who thinks you are not exemplifying the traits they believe personify whatever label, cause and/or organization you may identify with. Take a deep breath, relax, and know that this is just a blip on the road.

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

