RSS Feed

Princess or Provocative

I’m not quite sure if my parents flat out prohibited my brothers and me to dress up during Halloween or if it was just a case of never encouraging us to get into the Halloween spirit. After all, these were the people that never celebrated any holidays or birthdays in our household. No, we weren’t Jehovah’s Witnesses but I guess you can say that was a common denominator between them and us. But even if my parents had allowed and/or encouraged me to dress up during Halloween, personally, I don’t recall there being a huge desire on my part to dress up for Halloween.
Growing up, one of the only costumes available for little girls was the princess costume and I was not the princess type. This once rough and tumble little girl was not about to drench herself in itchy taffeta and a tiara. From my perspective at that time, the only cool costumes were the boy’s costumes. Not only was there a variety of options for boys to choose from, their costumes allowed them to move around and be everything from scary to heroic. I loved the fact that boys had the option to dress up as Freddy Krueger or Superman for Halloween, unlike girls who could be a princess, or a good witch or a bad witch. On occasion, I did see girls dressed up as Wonder woman, but the princess and the witch definitely reigned supreme. Today, there is a wide variety of costumes for little girls to choose from, unfortunately, too many of them are inappropiate.
Some of the Halloween costumes designed for girls as young as 8 years old cross one too many lines in my estimation. “Sexy nurse,” Sexy school teacher,” Sexy dancer,” anything involving the word “Sexy” has no business being marketed to 8 year old girls. I’d take a sea of taffeta and tiara trick or treating 8 year old girls instead of the 8 year old that is sporting a mini- skirt and sports bra that has been stuffed to the max with tissue paper. Arguably, I’m in no position to give parenting advice being that I don’t have any children of my own, but I think allowing an 8 year old girl to dress in provocative clothing for Halloween is something that one doesn’t necessarily have to be a parent to register. Behind every inappropriately dressed for Halloween little girl, are parents who purchase these costumes for their little girls, which in turn eggs on the creators of these costumes to produce more of the same. I can’t pretend to comprehend why on earth any parent would think it is okay to allow their daughters to dress in such provocative ways for Halloween, but I wish they would take a hard look at the message they are encouraging thru these costumes, the message that these girls should be perceived as sexual beings.

We live in a world where girls as young as 8 (and younger) are being trafficked to men who view these girls as sexual objects to be physically and sexually used at their whim. And in a sense, TV, movies, and magazines participate in bolstering the perverted image of the provocative little girl. Although we will never be able to eradicate the wicked and perverse triggers that lead men to sexualize little girls, as individuals we can take an affirmative stand against the sexualization of young girls. Individually, we can start by taking a stand against the providers of the “Sexy” costumes for little girls by not buying and/or recommending these costumes.  As consumers, we have a lot of power as to what stays or goes. It is my hope that one day the “Sexy” costume for little girls will go away, far away. 

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

