RSS Feed

Moving back to the beginning

I’m so grateful to have been born and raised in what I think is one of the best cities in the world, New York City. The buildings, the parks, the neighborhoods, the museums, the stores, the restaurants, etc., one would be hard- pressed not to be able to find a multitude of layers to discover and unpeel. The gritty, vibrant, and sharp-edged feel of the city is another aspect of New York City that I adore and have fully embraced. Not many other cities in my opinion stand up to the level of wit and sharp- edginess that has become one of New York City’s staples. New Yorker’s have a way of sucking you  in with their incredible charm and wit, yet, if the need arises, can spit you out with a good, sarcastically laced tongue- lashing. Although in recent years the city has taken quite a few hits, higher cost of living, rapidly increasing rents, and increasing cost of transportation to name just a few, it is still a place that millions of people are proud to call home and where on a daily basis hundreds of people are pulling up stakes and fashioning a home for themselves and their families. Without question, I count myself among one of the many millions who can’t imagine living anywhere other than New York City. This sentiment is partly why I was shocked, but ultimately encouraged, to have read the blog post by Brittney Gilbert that I did this morning.

Brittney Gilbert is a professional blogger with a host of credits to her resume. I learned about Brittney through the website Skillshare (www.skillshare.com) which is a website dedicated to linking up knowledgeable and successful people in different fields with regular people like you and me who want to soak up some of these individuals respective knowledge. Tomorrow, Brittney is teaching a Skillshare class about blogging that I am anxious to see how will unfold. If her class is structured anything like her blog, http://brittneyg.typepad.com/, I’m sure it will be something to remember. In “preparation” for tomorrow’s class, I logged onto Brittney’s blog where I was immediately surprised to read that she will be moving back to San Francisco on December 1st. I don’t know Brittney personally, so my surprise was not on a personal level, but rather the instant sting of realizing that someone did not love all of the gritty things I do about New York City. As I continued reading Brittney’s post about moving back to San Francisco, I quickly realized that her moving back to San Francisco was not a putting down of New York, it was an honest coming to terms with regard to who she is and where she’d like to be. This sort of honest introspection is truly priceless and is something that we should all strive to do in our lives. Sadly, I have often failed to dig in this deep and honestly take a look at who I am, where I am, and where I’d like to be, resulting in a string of disastrous consequences and an ofttimes stunted ability to analyze what I am all about.

Even though we don’t see eye to eye about living in New York City, I admire Brittney for giving the Big Apple a bite, and most of all, for admitting that New York City wasn’t the right fit for her. I am inspired by her courage and confidence to move back to San Francisco with no job in sight. In her words, she is willing to “temp, wait tables, stock shelves, work three jobs if need be,” whatever it takes to be able to move back to San Francisco she will do. I have no doubt that Brittney’s confidence and zest for her beloved San Francisco will see her through all that awaits her in San Francisco. It is this confidence and zest that makes me look forward to tomorrow’s class. Hopefully, some of her energy and good fortune will rub off on me tomorrow night 🙂

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

