RSS Feed

Coulda, Shoulda, Gonna

In the world of “Blogging do’s,” one of the biggest “do’s” is to surf the blog sphere in search of blogs to read and leave comments on. The idea behind this “do” being that the more blogs one reads and makes comments on, the more traffic will flow to ones own blog. In practice, this “do” is fairly successful in achieving the goal of directing traffic to ones blog because it taps into the part of our nature that seeks to satisfy curiosity. The longing to unravel the persona behind the comment leads most to click on the link that steers them towards the another website. So begins the circle of blogging that I have fought tooth and nail not to be a part of for fear of becoming what I call a “hit and run” blog commenting machine. The blog commenting machine is an almost robotic personality who feeds on the need to leave as many comments on as many blogs a day as they can with the objective of getting as many blog readers to read, comment on, and hopefully follow their blog. With every tap on the keyboard or touchscreen, the blog commenting machine spills his or her agenda out bear for the whole blog sphere to witness.

For months, I have locked out the advice I’ve read in numerous online articles touting the virtues of commenting on other blogs as a means of directing traffic to ones own blog. I even snickered at my coworkers sound advice to seek similar minded bloggers to connect with and bounce ideas off of, believing that this action would lead to my eventual decent into blog commenting machine territory. The walls I built up against reading and commenting on other blogs was further fortified by my current crunch for time. Nowadays, not only do I barely have the time to stitch a blog post together, I most certainly do not have the time to “troll” the Internet for blogs to drive- by and hit. Unbeknown st to me, a familiar foe named procrastination was about to help me overcome the blocks I’ve built up against reading and commenting on other blogs. The time- waster, denial- weaver, and stress- inducer that is procrastination was about to conjure up a blog I had long since forgotten, The Daily Post (http://dailypost.wordpress.com/). The Daily Post blog describes itself as “an experiment in blogging motivation” which provides ideas, suggestions, inspiration to bloggers. Additionally, bloggers are given the opportunity to participate in “Post a Day” or “Post a Week” challenges. Lately, being as as time crunched as I am, I opted to answer one of the questions posed on the blog. It was in the comment section of that question that I had the opportunity to read some witty, informative, and engaging replies left by fellow bloggers. Both curiosity and procrastination merged forces, and as soon as I knew it, I started clicking on blog links. Shortly thereafter, I conducted a search for more blogs on the WordPress website where each blog I discovered was more intriguing than the next. By the time I had written my 3rd or 4th comment, my fear of becoming a blog commenting machine had dissipated, replaced by the joy of discovering a wide range of raw, honest, witty, funny, informative, and entertaining blogs.

The wonderfully talented members of the blog sphere community should be celebrated and praised for the amazing content they share on the Internet. My ill- conceived fear of becoming a blog commenting machine kept me from fully immersing myself into the blog sphere, and worse yet, not acknowledging and appreciating the work of fellow bloggers by refusing to comment on their blogs. There will be times that I will not be able to read the content of the blogs I’ve discovered, just as there will be times that I will fail to comment on a particular blog post and that is okay. The point is for me to keep the door of the blog sphere open, appreciating every second I get to participate in enjoying what others have painstakingly taken the time to share.

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

One response »

  1. Great Article Very Helpful 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

