RSS Feed

Just a little bit of sadness…

One of the great things about owning an iPad 2 is the ability to download applications like Flipboard and Zite (these applications are now available for the iPhone). Flipboard and Zite are “magazine style” applications that allow users to tailor the information that the applications stream to them based on their personal preferences. Content sections and design layout are but two of the functions users can custom design. I can’t begin to count the vast amount of diverse information these applications have streamed to me from sources I most likely would never have come across during a typical web search. Today, via the “Psychology and Mind” section of the Zite application, I stumbled upon a wonderful blog post by a blogger named Kymberly Grosso who veered away from writing about autism to share her thoughts and suggestions on how to get through the loss of a loved one during the holidays, (http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/autism-in-real-life/201112/getting-through-the-holidays-after-losing-loved-one-0).

Like Kymberly, unfortunately, I can relate to the stinging pain that follows the loss of a loved one and how that loss forever marks the holidays with “just a little bit of sadness.” There is no way for me to adequately articulate the painful and numbing feeling that engulfs those like me that have lost loved ones, especially during times when the presence of these individuals is emphasized. While it is generally true that with the passage of time comes the ability to better deal with the intensity of the loss of a loved one, the pain and sadness over their loss never truly goes away.

Along with wonderful memories of her mother, Kymberly offers some great suggestions for how to get through the holidays after the loss of a loved one. If you have lost a loved one, please know that the pain that you feel, as raw and intense as it may be now, will get better with time. No amount of time will cause you to forget your loved one, nor will it erase the sadness you feel about their passing, but there are things you can do to honor your loved ones memory and take care of yourself.

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

