RSS Feed

Jotting it all down

‎”Fame gets you in the door but it doesn’t keep you in the room.” Madonna

If you are in any way connected to the writing world, chances are you have heard and/or read of the importance of jotting anything of interest to you down as soon as possible. What you jot down today can turn into something you write about tomorrow. With varying degrees of success, I have started jotting down all the things I’ve seen, heard, or read that interest me. While it is too early for me to say whether anything I have jotted down will materialize into a written piece, I believe the act of jotting things down here and there has made me more sensitive to my surroundings, and in many respects, has caused me to more deeply examine my likes and dislikes.

One of my favorite things to jot down are quotes. Profound quotes, funny quotes, sad quotes, joyful quotes, quotes from books, magazines, celebrities, politicians, you name it, if what was said has in any way captivated me, chances are I have jotted it down. The latest quote added to my list is one from Madonna. Madonna and I go way back. No, I don’t know Madonna personally, but the younger version of myself would have gladly volunteered to become the Hispanic Madonna sans the singing and the dancing. Growing up, I enjoyed Madonna’s music, but what appealed to me most about Madonna was the power she was able to amass in the time frame that she did. The strength and confidence that she exuded both onstage and off is something that I craved and aspired to achieve. Her level of fitness, then and now, has kept me in awe for years. Over time, I have drifted away from wanting to “rule the world” as Madonna once stated years ago. Today, I simply want to do that which I love. Following my passion is what I’d consider successful and that which I aspire to achieve. But I digress. As I was trying to decide what TV channel to keep playing in the background to help me drift off to sleep, I caught a clip of an upcoming appearance by Madonna on the Anderson Cooper show. To the question posed to Madonna regarding the Kardashian’s, Madonna stated that the Kardashian’s have time to develop into something, adding that fame gets you in the door but doesn’t keep you in the room. I couldn’t help but connect Madonna’s statement to events that have been going on around me lately.

Too often, people blur the line between what can be and what is, believing that they have truly measured up to the opportunity they have been given, but in reality can’t measure up to talent/skill wise. This is not to say that they can’t work up to the opportunity they have been provided, and in many regards surpass the opportunity, however, when hubris steps in, this becomes impossible. Hubris is a sneaky and deceptive little pest that commonly masquerades itself in the form of confidence. Unlike hubris, confidence does not egotistically stand by expecting that which there is no source or basis to receive. I cannot speak with respect to where the Kardashians are now, whether that be in the stage of hubris or of confidence. Admittedly, I do take issue with their entrée into the world of celebrity, but I’ll leave that alone for now. For me, the essence of Madonna’s statement rings true whether it be in relation to the world of celebrity or at the office, ‎”fame gets you in the door but it doesn’t keep you in the room.”

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

2 responses »

  1. I’m constantly jotting things down I want to remember on scraps of paper: Songs I want to download, books I want to read, quotes, dates, etc. It’s become a habit that makes me have to spend a day organizing all my “scraps of thought.” 🙂

    Reply
  2. I had stopped jotting things down because I had so many scraps of paper and post- it’s swirling around. However, I quickly learned that if I didn’t jot things down immediately, I would forget them. Now, I try to reign in all of those pieces of scrap by importing them into this or that application, trying bring the operative word 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

