RSS Feed

When I grow up, I want to be a…

test

In college, there wasn’t a career assessment test that I didn’t take. Even what appeared to be a firm decision to pursue a career in the law did not detract from my compulsion to take career assessment test after career assessment test. You’d think my obsession with taking these examinations was driven by a steady stream of  exotic and quirky career suggestions. But no, I generally fell into a specific set of career fields: law, journalism, and psychology. One day, as I scanned through what I believed would be the usual list of careers, I was stopped cold by what I deemed to be a most unusual career recommendation; Rabbi. At that time, the only thing I knew about Rabbi’s was that they were affiliated with the Jewish faith, they read Hebrew texts, celebrated Hanukkah  and seemed to wear a lot of black clothing. Aside from the black clothing, nothing about me becoming a Rabbi synced. Consequently, I furiously went through each multiple choice question in search of the question, or set of questions, that led to the suggestion that I become a Rabbi. A career in the law, got it;  a career in journalism, I can see it; psychologist, um, okay, Rabbi.. OY!

Years after graduating from college, having worked in a diverse set of career fields, I now appreciate the link that exists between the law, journalism, psychology and Rabbi profession. It isn’t a spiritual connection so much as it is a link that is rooted in the ability to write, research, listen, communicate, and empathize. Much like an attorney or a paralegal, a Rabbi must be able to synthesize and disseminate text in a coherent and reasoned manner. Like journalists, Rabbi’s must develop a keen sense of their surroundings to discover what questions need to be asked, which stories need to be told, and what people need to be reached. Similar to a psychologist, a Rabbi must possess the wherewithal to become the shoulder to cry on, as well as the fountain of knowledge in times of despair, questioning, peace, and curiosity. In varying degrees of pleasure and competency, I’ve  taken on the role of lawyer, journalist, psychologist and Rabbi.

The connection between the law, journalism, psychology and being a Rabbi is not one I would have wrestled with had it not been for my penchant to take career assessment test. Yet, it was in taking one career assessment test after another that I stifled my ability to perceive the common ground between these professions. On a certain level, I was relying on these tests to define who I should be. The function of the career assessment test is not to define who you are, it is to shine a light on your interests and current abilities. Unearthing your passions, your life’s calling, goes beyond shading a bubble on an exam sheet. This task requires quiet introspection followed by thoughtful  and deliberate action. It is precisely these steps that’s led me to the truth that I no longer wish to pursue a career in the law, nor am I pursuing a career in psychology. And while I wouldn’t hold out any hope in seeing me preside over a service at the synagogue, I would love to someday write for a living.  Time will tell if this is to be. In the interim, I’m steering clear of #2 pencils.

What steps have you taken to unearth your life’s calling?

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

