RSS Feed

One step at time

DSCF1509

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Lao Tzu

Most health professionals universally tout the importance of taking at least 10,000 steps per day. To the average person, taking 10,000 steps per day may seem like an ominous task, but it is an achievable goal. For many years, people have used fitness gadgets like pedometers to track their daily steps. The pedometers of yesteryear were usually clunky instruments one clipped onto their pants with a not so stellar reputation for accurate step measurement. With an array of functionality at its disposal, today these types of gadgets have moved beyond the title of pedometer and have embraced the activity and fitness tracker description. Nowadays, activity and fitness trackers boast of not only being able to achieve more precise daily step tracking than their predecessors, many also perform such functions as measure sleep patterns and calories burned.

The FitBit Zip is a wireless activity tracker whose device shows the amount of steps taken, distance covered, and calories burned. Connecting the included wireless dongle to a PC or a Mac automatically allows for the wireless transfer of this data from the device to the FitBit database. Once logged into the FitBit dashboard, one can track these activities along with log data such as daily water consumption, food consumed (type and amount), weight, heart rate, activity performed, blood pressure, glucose. Additionally, users can develop food plans, keep a journal, and  create custom trackers. FitBit Zip users also have the opportunity to link up with other FitBit users (FitBit Zip, FitBit Ultra, and FitBit One) through the community forum and by adding users as friends whom you can compete with, track, and motivate.

iPhone and Android phone FitBit Zip users can download a free application that allows them to log their food, water consumed, weight, and activities performed, as well as track their steps taken, calories burned, and check their leaderboard. The FitBit Zip can also be used linked up to applications such as Lose it, Map My Run, My Fitness Pal, and many more. FitBit Zip users also have the opportunity to share their progress on social media websites such as Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, and Microsoft Health Vault.

I have been using the FitBit Zip since late November and I love it! It is so small and compact, I sometimes forget that I am wearing it. Everyday, I clip it onto my bra and I’m out the door. The fact that it is splash, sweat, and rain proof is great since I clip it onto my sports bra when I workout at the gym and at home. Unlike the FitBit Ultra and FitBit One, the FitBit Zip does not track activities such as stairs climbed or one’s sleep patterns. However, those are not activities that I necessarily care to track. Mainly, I enjoy the FitBit Zip’s ease of use, its wireless tracking, and the easy to use and understand FitBit dashboard. Of course, being the app addict that I am, I love the fact that there is a FitBit application that allows me to track my progress on the go. While not as good-looking and easy to use as its website counterpart (sometimes a bit buggy), for the most part, the FitBit application gets the job done.

Above all, I am delighted and surprised at the way the FitBit Zip has integrated its way into my life. Wanting to hit the 10,000 step per day target, I walk or run a bit further than I normally would have in the past, leading me to discover new terrain. Attaining Fitbit’s badges and achievement awards provide a fun incentive for me to take as many steps as possible per day. Currently, I do not have any FitBit friends, none of my friends are FitBit users, nor have I had the time to enter into the Fit Bit forums, two things I hope will change soon. In the meantime, I’m having fun challenging myself to meet the daily goal of 10,000 steps, making sure not to beat myself up on the days that I don’t quite hit the mark.

If you are looking for a seamless, fun, motivational, and challenging tool to get you moving, I’d recommend trying the FitBit Zip. At $59.99, it’s an affordable way to start taking steps in the right direction.

Do you use any fitness gadgets like the FitBit Zip?

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

Leave a Reply

