RSS Feed

A Little Flair- New York Fashion Week Fall 2013

la-ar-new-york-fashion-week-spring-summer-2013-039

” Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”  Coco Chanel

What does having a sense of style mean? Does having a sense of style mean knowing what’s currently and soon to be hot? Does a sense of style dictate that you stand in, or does it demand that you stand out? Does it mean that you wear the this season’s Prada and/or Chanel?

Despite being a lover of clothes, shoes, accessories, and bags, I’m far from what one would call a “fashionista.”  Sure, I’ve heard of Prada and Chanel, but I wouldn’t be able to identify last seasons Prada and Chanel from that which these designers manufactured 2 seasons ago. My cup does not runneth over with knowledge of designers.

My attention to, and love of, all things related to fashion generally falls in queue with my budget. In other words,  I’m broke. This financial conundrum limits not only my ability to purchase items from high-end designers, it also quells the desire to torture myself by ogling clothing and accessories I can only dream of buying. Nevertheless, last New York Fashion Week (Spring/Summer), I found myself watching live streams of various shows online. A curious thing happened while I was watching these shows. First, I was not filled with pangs of envy over not being able to afford (and fit into) to the clothing the waif-like models were profiling up and down the catwalk. Every article of clothing that shimmied down the catwalk increased my sense of excitement over witnessing the realization of the designer’s vision. Whether it be in the form of prose, film, or fashion, vision is what every creative person longs to cultivate and share. 

Of course, the main focus of fashion week is the clothes, clothes that will undoubtedly influence what will be offered in the coming season. From the silver screen, to award shows, to the average person on the street, what will be showcased during this week will inspire how many will express themselves in the months to come. But beyond inspiring what style I chose to add my own little twist to, fashion week is a time for me to get inspired by the creative force that brought the different collections to life. It is a time for me to revel in the craftsmanship, fantasy, whimsy, energy, and excitement symbolic of this week. 

If you’ve never seen a fashion week show, give it a try, it may refuel your creative energy in ways you’ve never dreamed. And who knows, you may  even like what you see.

**Live streams and recaps of the fashion week shows can be viewed at http://www.mbfashionweek.com/

About musingsnyc

I'm a self-professed iOS app addict who loves reading, writing, surfing the Internet and my hometown, New York City. In 2000, I graduated from the City University of New York, Hunter College, with a degree in English (writing concentration) and Political Science. In August 2009, I received an online MBA degree with a specialization in Public Administration from the University of Phoenix. For the past 8 years, I've worked as a Paralegal in the Immigration Law Unit of one of the largest not for profit law firms in New York City. Prior to my work as a Paralegal, I worked as a Traffic Coordinator and Assistant Account Executive in a New York City based Hispanic advertising agency. Throughout all of my different work and school experiences the one constant has been my love of writing. As long as I can remember, I have been jotting words down in notebooks, pieces of scrap paper, and just about any surface where ink would not dissolve. I have always been eager to share my thoughts and opinions about what is going on in the world and my personal life via writing. It would be a dream come true if I could channel my love and passion for writing into a full-time or freelance opportunity. My goal is to share my thoughts, opinions, life experiences in a thought- provoking and entertaining way with all that drop by. I love interacting with people and thus would love and greatly appreciate all feedback via the comments section of this blog.

2 responses »

  1. I love that Coco quote. and those dresses are beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

